Review on Ishmael

Ishmael: An Adventure of the Mind and Spirit

Author: Daniel Quinn

Pages: 266

“There’s nothing fundamentally wrong with people. Given a story to enact that puts them in accord with the world, they will live in accord with the world. But given a story to enact that puts them at odds with the world, as yours does, they will live at odds with the world. Given a story to enact in which they are the lords of the world, they will ACT like lords of the world. And, given a story to enact in which the world is a foe to be conquered, they will conquer it like a foe, and one day, inevitably, their foe will lie bleeding to death at their feet, as the world is now.”

Alright, so Harambe… I mean, Ishmael, is essentially about the philosophical and moral perspective of a very large gorilla. The protagonist comes across an ad in the personals section of the newspaper. “Teacher seeks pupil. Must have an earnest desire to save the world.” The teacher is the gorilla of course and after the two meet Ishmael continues to teach the protagonist, giving him his thoughts and perspective on the world and most importantly on man kind.

Ok, so I liked the book. It was definitely interesting. Even just based on the fact it’s the view and teachings of the world from a gorilla. I enjoyed the philosophy and there were many valid points made. Things like mans myth. Read it to figure out what that is cause I’m not telling you. It made me think and and analyze everything that was out in front of me. As I continued to read, the more I knew what point Ishmael was leading up to. Eventually I was always correct to where these questions and statements were leading. while the main character seem to lag behind. I was a better pupil.

I appreciated almost all things regarding this book. There was probably only one thing I had trouble with. The main character was trying to form a point and I feel it could’ve been made differently. I understand where they were going with it but just his viewpoint and attack on the issue was lacking.

I feel this novel really could benefit mankind as the gorilla intended. It has some very impactful points I feel I’ve never heard before which is saying something, and the position Ishmael stands behind clearly derives from some real world aspects of the authors own mind. It’s pretty spiritual in a way and has solid reasoning behind many of the points it’s trying to convey. It really does get your brain going. I believe reading a book that gives such a vivid and impressive outlook on human life can only help our minds develop.

Word count: 467

One thought on “Review on Ishmael

  1. cutie,
    Im glad you liked the book and enjoyed reading your perspective on it. I’ve never heard of Ishmael before and after reading your review it sounds like something I would like. I wanted to know if you found this book challenging to get through or was it more of an easy read? Its definitely on my list of books to read but I don’t know if I should put it off for a while since I have to read some other books for my classes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

