The Stand Stands

Book: The Stand

Author: Stephen King

Pages: 823

Show me a man or a woman alone and I’ll show you a saint. Give me two and they’ll fall in love. Give me three and they’ll invent the charming thing we call ‘society’. Give me four and they’ll build a pyramid. Give me five and they’ll make one an outcast. Give me six and they’ll reinvent prejudice. Give me seven and in seven years they’ll reinvent warfare. Man may have been made in the image of God, but human society was made in the image of His opposite number, and is always trying to get back home.”

So I decided to finally read a Stephen king book and I’m beginning to see why the author is so famous. The book is great so far. Was a little slow at first, just a little, but it’s a very long book and the beginning might bore some readers out of finishing it. I’m reading the extended version, the way he had originally meant for it to be before his editors.

I think the way he captures the descending madness of the world brilliantly. It isn’t this clear cut thing. The government is sort of the bad guy in this and the people that work for it don’t just go along with the unethical deeds ordered to them. People turn against each other. There’s insanity, madness, panic, and murder. It doesn’t start off post apocalyptic, instead it takes the interesting approach many don’t ever do which is to show how it progressed into it’s new post apocalyptic state. I’m currently 400 pages in and I’m glad there’s so much left. It’s been interesting so far and There is just so much potential. He even has a character from another book that somehow traversed into this books world.

I’ll most definitely finish this book, I already know I’m going to love it. I love it so far. It’ll be a miracle and would almost have to seem on purpose if it suddenly decided to turn into shit but I’m 99.9999 percent positive I’m gonna be writing a sparkling review, if that’s how that stupid saying goes.

Word Count: 360

Leave a Reply

